top of page
  • Writer's picturethesugarsiren

Busy Little Baker


It's such an odd feeling, having the desire to write, to blog, but not being able to. I broke my laptop and thus, I have not been able to post anything or a while. That, and the holiday season was crazy at work. The joys of working somewhere that's open 365 Days a year.

I had so many things I wanted to blog about, which I still plan on posting. Christmas in January! I will be working on those in the next few days. For now, I'll just get to what's on my mind tonight.

It's O-fish-ally been 4 months (almost 6 now) since my move from the desert to the beach. It's quite amazing the similarities and differences between LA and Phoenix. While I'm finding peace in who I am and who I've become, I've noticed my anxiety has risen. As I was driving tonight, a thought crossed my head; it's not my life, but the city. Everything is go-go-go here, traffic is crazy, taking an hour to get anywhere. When the weight of the city seems to sit on my chest, if I think about how much I have changed in just 6 months, when this process started, and where I want to be, the load lifts a little.

I don't know if it's moving here and having a new social life, or I had no social life at home, but the places to go "hang out" feel so different. The best way I can explain it is like going to your rich Uncle's house who's a super chill person. Or, I suppose "Millennial" works too. So much chic and shabby chic. I'm currently sitting in a building that used to be an orange packing house in 1919. They have updated it to be a food court with such cultural and social diversity. My nose is filed with Indian spices, the taste of a French lemon meringue tart fresh on my taste buds and the hum of friendship filling the air.

California hasn't been all sunshine and rainbows. One of my first weeks here I ran to Ross to pick up a piece of furniture for my bathroom, which happens to be mermaid themed. Shocker, right? Well, I had this large dresser like thing in my cart. I wheel it up front, pay, and head out the door. Little did I realize that there was a pole on said cart so you can't take it outside. So, I'm over here, struggling to get the cart out the door, and keep the dresser from falling out. After I hear laughter coming from behind me, I realize my mistake. So I pull back, put the cart back and pick up my purchase. The people laughing were now in front of me, and let the door close on me as I'm trying to carry this thing out to my car. The whole walk to the car was a humiliating parade to laughter.

We all have rough days, even me working my dream job. Those bad days make us value the good ones all that much more. I have been going back and forth on morning and evening shifts (I'm trained on evenings). A few weeks ago I was on a morning shift, and was surprisingly perky. For those who don't know, I'm a night owl. Well, things get a little slow after the holidays, and I got sent over to help do these fancy deserts. Turns out I was helping make desserts for the Blue Bayou AND Club 33. What an amazing experience it was.

I started this post a whole month and a half ago, and never got back to it. I can give excuses, but I've been putting off my blogging for too long. I have one other post I'm working on and one that I'm going to start for International Women's Day on Friday. Anyways, more on that later.

In the last few weeks I've been feeling myself grow as a teacher and leader at work, as well as honing in on my personal skills. I was had the honor to make, and decorate, cheesecakes for a banquet tasting. They were small, but I was so proud of myself. I'm trying to work hard to advance in the ranks. The best part is that I'm so excited to see where the next 6 months, 1 year, where life will take me. I'm so blessed to have this job and be surrounded by the talented and supportive people I work with.

Till Friday,

Stay Sweet my Friends! <3


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page