top of page
  • Writer's picturethesugarsiren

A Mermaid's Adventure in Working for The Mouse


Can I just say, wow. What a crazy whirlwind the last almost 2 months have been. None of which I could have done without you.


Some of you who know me personally know, I can be very stubborn. In this case, life had to hit me on the head with a very heavy clue-by-4. I was unhappy at my place of employment back in July and I started job hunting. I saw Disneyland was hiring, and I had thought about it, but never applied. Then the beginning of August a few things happened, and by this specific Thursday I was so completely fed up with where I was at. I looked up the Disney career page and saw that that coming Saturday they were having a culinary career fair. In that moment, I made the split second decision that would change my life. I was going. As if by divine intervention, magic, or whatever you believe, I happened to have that day off. I applied that night and texted one of my closest friends saying "We're going to Cali!"

After less than 2 hours I received an email requesting me to do an online interview. At the end of the "interview" I was asked to make an appointment for and in person interview Saturday. At this point my mind was blown and my nerves were a wreck. What if I don't get it? What if I do!?!? At 26, I had always lived with family. How would I make it in California? I somehow managed to push all of these questions out of my mind as I packed and left for my interview. I worked Friday, and as soon as I got off, I headed for California.


I made sure that I had packed a nice set of clothes, my resume, and portfolio. That morning I had a lovely breakfast with my friend who came along, then off to the interview. Everyone there were so nice and accommodating. After I got signed in, I followed all the steps I'd ever learned about interviews. My phone was on silent in my purse. In front of where I was sitting, there was a table set up with menus and some of the goodies they offer in the parks. Knowing that everyone is always watching, I got up and starting going through the menus, familiarizing myself with them.

On the other side of this table was a chef and a woman who was dressed in business clothes. I figured she was HR. I decided to strike up a conversation with her. Turns out she was something to the affect of being over operations of the baking/confections department. WHAT!?!? It wasn't till I got home that I hit me who exactly I talked to. The interview itself went very well, and they even brought over a pastry chef to come talk to me. They asked for a few minuets to discuss, then they called me back. The gentleman stated that they felt like I would be a great fit and offered me a second interview. Since I was from out of state, they would call me with a time.


A few days later I recieved the call. In another amazing turn of events, I happened to have the day off they gave me for my interview. They also notified me of what I had to make. I had 8 hours to make 3 servings of 5 different dishes. I felt like I was going onto one of those baking shows. This time I brought my little brother with me and we didn't get into town till 2:30am. So with 2 hours of sleep and excitement running though my veins I spent my 8 hours not only making desserts, but making memories and friendships. I kept in mind that even if I didnt get the job, it was still an honor to be in that kitchen.

Despite the fact I didn't do amazing, I did my best and that's all I could do. The Chefs came in and tried all of my desserts. They loved my orange sponge, even going back for more! They thanked me for my time and sent me on my way. I was on pins and needles until, really, after the phone call. They called me and notified me "unfortunately, the position that you applied for, we felt you were not a good fit." BOOM That hit me so hard. And just as I felt dread taking over, she continued with "However, we have a position opening up next week you were recommended for." And with that, I was lighter than air.


With as big of a company Disney is, they open up all new positions to current Cast Members. So even though I was recommended for this position, I had to wait to see in any one else within the company applied first. The day I got that fateful call, I had had a rough day at work and I didn't want to go back. I had just parked at my mom's work when they called. Despite the fact I was sure I'd get it, I was still stunned. I went up to meet my mom and the instant I saw her, tears started just pouring out of my eyes. I hugged her and me legs went weak, halfway on the ground, I just sobbed.

I still can't believe it.

Since then, I came back to fill out paperwork, get my Id photo taken, took 2 classes, and received my Id and Name tag by none other than Micky Mouse himself. My kitty cat, Miss Luna, and I took a 6 hour trip to our new home. I plan on writing a separate post about our travel. I've been here for a week and I'm loving every second of it. I've already been inside Disneyland twice, and I'm going again this week.


I am so very grateful for this opportunity. I'm so grateful for all of my struggles and successes that has lead me to this point. I'm so grateful for every single person who has supported me along the way, from liking posts, to hiring me to bake for your special events. Even the cheerleaders in the back.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Busy Little Baker

It's such an odd feeling, having the desire to write, to blog, but not being able to. I broke my laptop and thus, I have not been able to post anything or a while. That, and the holiday season was cra

bottom of page