top of page
  • Writer's picturethesugarsiren

Project Semicolon Day


Hello! Happy Semicolon day. Wait... there's a day of the year for punctuation?? Yes, but it's not what you think.

Amy Bleuel, well experienced in the world of mental illness, decided that she wanted to stand up and help ease the burden of those suffering. In 2013 she started Project Semicolon as a movement to help those struggling with suicidal thoughts to keep fighting the good fight. The idea behind the group is

"A semicolon represents a sentence an author could have ended, but chose not to.

You are the Author and the sentence is your life."

I came across this amazing organization a few years ago and I have to say it has changed my life. I was diagnosed at 1 with depression. It was crazy for me to read some of my old journals talking about how I wanted to die at such a young age. I learned some coping skills, but as I went into high school, things changed and life got harder. With raging hormones and trying to figure out who I was as a person, my depression was at an all time high. I went through 2 best friends before I graduated, and I had no idea what I was going to do with myself after graduation. In November of 2008 I was admitted into the hospital psychiatric unit on suicide watch. I spent a whole week there; missing school, the only connection to the outside world were the few windows up high that let in a little light. I was diagnosed with Bipolar disorder. At first I was extremely offended by this, but then I began reading up on it.


Junior Prom

Bipolar Disorder used to be called Manic-depressive illness, which was a more intense diagnosis in the sense that the moods can shift very quickly. One minuet you could be having the time of your life, then the next moment you feel the weight of the world on your shoulders. My anger and hatred for myself for being this way eased up a little learning that it's not just me choosing to be upset, but that my brain isn't able to produce the necessary chemicals. I was placed on medication and continued on with my life.

In August 2015, I thought I was having a heart attack in church. With the fact I have a heart murmur, I was so scared, which just made the whole thing worse. It was then that I was diagnosed with Anxiety. Well, that explained SO MANY things that had happened in my life. Then in October, my fiance broke up with me. I was devastated. It took me years to heal my heart. So, the same time the following year, I attempted to commit suicide again. Little did I realize that taking several allergy pills and 5 melatonin wasn't going to kill me, but make me sleep 13ish hours straight.

My anxiety and depression fluctuates, but I haven't had any tendencies lately. I know that this topic may be sad, or uncomfortable, but this is a conversation that needs to be had. I also what ALL of you reading this, weather I know you personally or not, I am here for you. YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

So today, to show my support and my fight, I drew a semicolon on my wrist.

"People around the world are getting semicolon tattoos to show those who struggle with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide. It represents the choice to continue life..."

didyouknowblogg.com

There are tons of great resources for you if you need help, someone you know needs help, or just want to learn more.

https://www.mentalhealth.gov/get-help/immediate-help

https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ 1-800-273-8255



Remember, you are not alone, and stay sweet <3

The Sugar Siren

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Busy Little Baker

It's such an odd feeling, having the desire to write, to blog, but not being able to. I broke my laptop and thus, I have not been able to post anything or a while. That, and the holiday season was cra

bottom of page